Cameroon: a country with high potential

fiche-cameroun

Fact sheet on the reasons to invest in Cameroon

fiche-cameroun

GEOGRAPHIC SITUATION

With a land surface of 475650 km2, of which 466050 km2 of continental surface and 9600 km2 of maritime, Cameroon is located in the heart of Africa and makes the junction between Equatorial Africa in the south and Tropical Africa in the north. It shares borders with 6 States: Nigeria in the east, Chad in the north east, Republic of Central Africa in the east, Congo, Gabon and Equatorial Guinea in the south. It is meanwhile much extended in latitude: riparian of the Congo basin in the south, while the north and the north are connected to the high densities of the Gulf of Guinea’s countries. It reaches in the north the sahelian shores of Lake Chad.

Bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, dominated by one of the most high mountainous massive of Africa. The bundle constitutes a greater variety of bio-geographic fields, from which it gets its name “Africa in miniature”. This comparison is followed in the demographic field with a population estimated to 22 millions of inhabitants and apportioned between more than 200(280 are counted) ethnics speaking 24 main languages.

ON THE ADMINISTRATIVE AND POLITICAL FIELDS

Cameroon is a presidential republic. The power is concentrated around the President and controlled by H.E Paul BIYA since 1982. The legislative power is exercised by two chambers, a National Assembly and a Senate put in place since 2013.

Cameroon is member of many international institutions and organizations, and shelters some of them headquarters. Among them we have: BEAC, CEMAC, ECCAS, CBLT, OHADA,OAPI, CBC, Golf of Guinea Commission etc., it is today a member by right of  the International Organization of Francophonie, and also of Commonwealth due to its bilingualism. Cameroon is also a Francophonie’s parliamentarian Assembly member.

Administratively, Cameroon counts today ten regions divided into 58 departments. Departments are divided into districts. The politic capital yaounde is the institutions’ headquarter while Douala is the economic capital.

ECONOMY

Cameroon’s economy is the most diversified in Central Africa, not only thanks to many foreign investments but also thanks countless national groups. Three sectors constitute this economy, namely the primary, secondary and tertiary sectors. The country has natural agricultural resources (bananas, cocoa, coffee, cotton, honey), forestry, mining (bauxite, iron, cobalt, nickel, manganese, diamond, marble, gas), petroleum and industries, (drinks, sweets, oil mil, soap factory, flour mill, aluminum, cement, metallurgy, primary wood processing, etc.).

Agriculture is rightly considered as the pillar of the Cameroon’s economy. With an employment of 70% of the active population, it contributes about 42% of the active population. It is broken down into several components, especially cash crops and subsistence crops (cotton, palm groves, tea, cocoa-coffee, rubber, sugar, cassava, potato, rice, maize, banana-plantain sectors. Many sectors have developed, such as the poultry and the cattle breeding sectors just to name a few.

As for fisheries, about 64 000 tons of marine products are fished every year off Cameroon’s coast. Traditional maritime fishing, practiced on canoes along the 400 km coast, especially in the mangroves. 10,000 tons of prawns are included in this number, quite as much as mainland traditional fisheries on artificial lakes and rivers. Traditional fisheries provide about 65,000 direct jobs and 135,000 indirect jobs in fish wholesaler, material processing and construction. Douala is the only industrial fishing port (10 000 t/year).

Tourism represents 2.5% of Cameroon’s GDP, the Government a long term adjustment plan in order to improve the bulk of visitors to Cameroon from 200 000 persons in 2002 to 500 000 persons in 2009. In 2012, Cameroon welcomed 817 000 tourists. Cameroon has three natural sites classified under the UNESCO World Heritage notably; the Dja Wild Life Reserve, the Waza National Park and the Lobeke National Park which are part of the Sangha Trinational. We can equally quote the; Museum of Baham in the West Region and the FOVU Falls, the National Museum found located at the Yaounde Central Town, Traditional Palaces of the West and North West Regions, Mt. Cameroon (4 070 m) in the South West Region, which is the highest in Cameroon and in West Africa, the Kapsiki Lunar Landscape in the North, the Lobe Falls in Kribi.

The Financial sector comprises of 13 commercial banks notably (Afriland First Bank, BICEC, SGBC, SCB ATTIJARIWAFA BANK, ECOBANK, CBC (Commercial Bank of Cameroon), Standard Chartered Bank,  Citibank, UBA, UBC, NFC, BGFI, Atlantic Bank),  8 financial companies ( Africa Leasing Company (ALC), Land Bank of Cameroon (CFC), PRO-PME Financing Plc (PRO-PME), Cameroon Car finance Company(SOCCA), Cameroon Company of Equipment, Cameroon Debt Collection Company (SRC), African Financial Company(SFA), National Company of Investment(SNI), and 495 Microfinance Companies apportioned into 3 categories.

GOOD ECONOMIC PERSPECTIVES

With a strategic geographical position making it a natural outlet for the countries and landlocked regions of Central Africa(Chad, Central Africa Republic and the north of Congo), Cameroon is undoubtedly an influent country of the Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa(CEMAC). The Economic growth of Cameroon has accelerated over the last period moving from approximately 2% in 2009 to 5.9% in 2015, and 4,8% in 2016(2017 prevision:4.2%), according to authorities prevision. The IMF believes that the increase of the real GDP should remain above 5% per annum during the next years, thanks notably to the oil production(new oilfield development),the achievements of public investments and the improvement of the agricultural productivity. Since 2010 the inflation average has remained below 3%.  Cameroon Government envisions to take greater benefit from the opportunities offered by the public-private partnerships(PPP), in order to mobilize the necessary resources for financing its development strategy recorded in Growth and Employment Strategy Paper(GESP) adopted in 2009.

THE KEY SECTORS

Services

The services represent close to half of the GDP (47% in 2014) and employ 22% of the active population. The services have become the most dynamic source of growth for the Cameroonian economy. Boosted by the good health of telecommunications, transport and logistics, the increase of the tertiary sector’s share in the country’s GDP is a trend which is most likely to settle as it is based on various activities experiencing a boom, notably in the field of Health, Education and Administration, as of those of Trade, Hotel and Catering.

MINES AND HYDROCARBONS

Cameroon has an oil production capacity of 100 000 barrels/day. The country is furthermore preparing to value its natural gas (whose resources are estimated at 160 billion cubic meters) from Kribi Complex where LNG a subsidiary of the Hydrocarbons National Company(HNC) and GDF Suez, is ending the construction of  its liquefaction unit. Rich in diamond, bauxite, iron, cobalt, nickel and gold, the Cameroonian subsoil is reported to contain more than fifty ores and some of which are not yet exploited. Over the last decade, the Government has granted number of mining exploration and exploitation licenses and some of which are beginning to bear fruits. Located in the East, the diamond deposit of Mobilong has given its first stones in early 2013. The Korean operator Cameroon & Korea Mining(C&KM) estimates its potential at 18 million carats. The American Geovic Mining Corp, via its subsidiary Geovic Cameroon, associated itself end of July 2013 to the Chinese Jianxi Rare Metals Tungsten Group Holding Company (JXTC) in order to accelerate the development and the production launch of the mine of cobalt, nickel and manganese of Nkamouna( South-East) of which some reserves are estimated to more than 100 millions of tons of ores. Finally the Mbalam-Nabeba iron deposit –considered as the second greater iron deposit in the continent- is estimated to 35 millions of tons over twenty years.

INFRASTRUCTURES

After a serious relaxation in the maintenance and the updating of the transport infrastructures and a disinvestment of the energy sector-of which the country remain the most important producer within the Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (CEMAC), the Government will finally work twice as hard to achieve the urgent projects identified in its Growth and Employment Strategy Paper (GESP). A revival widely motivated by the fact that the latter, of a crucial importance for the development of the sub region equally require funding from regional and international partners. The energy plan of Cameroon aims to alleviate the country’s deficit (40 GWh/year) to carry the installed capacity to 5000 MW by 2020 (up from 1337MW actually). The total cost of the production infrastructures achievement and of electricity transportation is estimated to more than 5850 billion CFA Francs (8.9 billions of Euros) over the period 2010-2020. The country is further coupled to the implementation of a hydroelectricity network, knowing that it has on this matter an estimated potential of 20 GW (the second of the continent after DRC) of which it exploits only 6%.

AGRICULTURE AND AGROFORESTRY

The Government has elaborated in 2008 a stimulus plan to extend the cultivated superficies ( a quarter of the country’s arable lands), facilitate inputs supply as well as the  peasants access to funding. Results: cash and subsistence crops price climbed again in 2012. Café and cacao first processing activities increased the added value of exportation products, as well as those of palm oil, but they must again be developed and extended to other sector (cotton, rubber). Among the other running yards: the performance improvement in fruits exploitation, especially bananas (of which exploitation represents around 3% of the state’s revenues apart from oil.), and the recovery of the forestry sector. Wood which is as of now the first Cameroonian product of exportation apart from oil( around 30% of the revenues), could pay a lot more, considering that only the half of the million cubic meter exported each year is locally transformed.

Cameroun: un pays à fort potentiel

fiche-cameroun

Découvrez la monographie détaillée sur le Cameroun :

  • A propos du Cameroun
  • Histoire
  • La situation politique et sociale
  • Situation économique
  • La vision Cameroun 2035
  • L’agriculture, un secteur clé
  • Les industries extractives au Cameroun
  • Le secteur de transports au Cameroun
  • Les enjeux
  • Des opportunités pour le investisseurs

Situation géographique

D’une superficie de 475 650 km2, dont 466050 km2 de superficie continentale et 9600 km2 de superficie maritime, le Cameroun est situé au cœur de l’Afrique et fait la jonction entre l’Afrique équatoriale au Sud et l’Afrique tropicale au nord. Il partage des frontières avec 6 Etats : le Nigeria à l’Ouest, le Tchad au Nord-est, la République Centrafricaine à l’Est, le Congo, le Gabon et la Guinée Equatoriale au Sud. Il est cependant très étendu en latitude : riverain du bassin du Congo au sud, alors que l’ouest et le nord se rattachent aux hautes densités des pays du Golfe de Guinée.  Il atteint au nord les rives sahéliennes du Lac Tchad.

Bordé par l’Océan atlantique, le pays est dominé par l’un des massifs montagneux les plus hauts d’Afrique. L’ensemble constitue une très grande variété de domaines bio-géographiques, d’où l’appellation Afrique en miniature. Cette comparaison est poursuivie dans le domaine démographique avec une population estimée à 22 millions d’habitants et répartie entre plus de 200 (on en dénombre 280) ethnies parlant 24 langues principales:,

Sur le plan politique et administratif

Le Cameroun est une république de type présidentialiste. Le pouvoir exécutif est concentré autour du président et contrôlé par S.E Paul Biya depuis 1982. Le pouvoir législatif est exercé par deux chambres, une Assemblée nationale et un Sénat mis en place depuis le 14 mai 2013.

Le Cameroun est membre de plusieurs institutions et organisations internationales et abrite les sièges de certains d’entre elles. L’on peut citer entre autre la BEAC, CEMAC, CEEAC, CBLT, OHADA, OAPI, CBC, Commission du Golfe de Guinée etc. IL est aujourd’hui membre de droit de l’Organisation internationale de la francophonie, ainsi que du Commonwealth d’où son caractère bilingue.  Le Cameroun est également membre de l’Assemblée parlementaire de la francophonie.

Sur le plan administratif, le Cameroun compte aujourd’hui dix régions elles-mêmes divisées en 58 départements. Les départements sont divisés en arrondissements. La capitale politique  Yaoundé est le siège des institutions tandis que Douala est la capitale économique.

Economie

L’économie du Cameroun est la plus diversifiée d’Afrique centrale, non seulement grâce à de nombreuses implantations étrangères mais aussi à de nombreux groupes nationaux. Trois secteurs constituent cette économie à savoir les secteurs primaire, secondaire et tertiaire. Le pays dispose de ressources naturelles agricoles (bananes, cacao, café, coton, miel), forestières, minières (bauxite, fer, cobalt, nickel, manganèse, diamant, marbre , gaz), pétrolières et des industries (boissons, sucrerie, huilerie, savonnerie, minoterie, aluminium, ciment, métallurgie, première transformation du bois, etc).

L’agriculture est considérée à juste titre comme le pilier de l’économie au Cameroun. Avec une occupation de 70 % de la population active, elle contribue environ à 42 % de la population active.  Elle se décline en plusieurs éléments, notamment les cultures de rente et vivrière (le coton, les palmeraies, le thé, la filière cacaocafé, la filière caoutchouc, la filière du sucre, la filière manioc ; la filière pomme de terre, la filière riz, la filière maïs,  la filière banane-plantain. Plusieurs secteurs se sont développés à savoir le secteur avicole et le secteur de l’élevage bovin etc.

Quant-à la pêche, environ 64 000 tonnes de produits maritimes sont pêchés chaque année au large des côtes camerounaises. La pêche artisanale maritime, pratiquée sur des pirogues le long des 400 km de côtes, notamment dans les mangroves. 10 000 tonnes de crevettes sont comprises dans ce nombre, à peu près autant que la pêche artisanale continentale sur les lacs artificiels et les cours d’eau. La pêche artisanale procure environ 65 000 emplois directs et 135 000 indirects dans le mareyage, la transformation et la construction de matériel. Douala est le seul port de pêche industrielle (10 000 t/an).

Le tourisme représente 2,5 % du PIB au Cameroun,  le gouvernement a lancé un plan d’aménagement à long terme afin de porter la masse de visiteurs au Cameroun de 200 000 personnes en 2002 à 500 000 à la fin 2009. En 2012, le Cameroun a accueilli 817.000 touristes. Le Cameroun possède trois sites naturels classés au patrimoine mondial par l’UNESCO : la réserve de faune du Dja, le parc national de Waza et le parc national de Lobéké qui fait partie du trinational de la Sangha. L’on peut également citer :  le musée de Baham situé dans la province de l’ouest et les chutes de FOVU, le musée national situé dans le centre-ville de Yaoundé, les chefferies traditionnelles à l’ouest et au Nord-ouest, le mont Cameroun (4 070 m) au sud-ouest, plus haut sommet du Cameroun et de l’Afrique de l’ouest ; les paysages lunaires des Kapsiki dans le nord, les chutes de la Lobé (Kribi).

Le secteur financier quant-à lui est composé de 13 banques commerciales (Afriland First Bank, BICEC, SGBC, SCB ATTIJARIWAFA BANK, ECOBANK, CBC (Commercial Bank Cameroon), Standard Chartered Bank, Citibank, UBA, UBC, NFC, BGFI, Banque Atlantique), 08 Etablissements financiers (Africa Leasing Company (ALC),Crédit Foncier du Cameroun (CFC), PRO-PME Financement SA (PRO-PME), Société Camerounaise de Crédit Automobile (SOCCA), Société Camerounaise d’Equipement (SCE), Société de Recouvrement des Créances du Cameroun (SRC), Société Financière Africaine (SFA), Société Nationale d’Investissement (SNI), et 495 Etablissements de Microfinance répartis en 3 catégories.

Infrastructures de développement

Le Cameroun possède (officiellement) 50 000 km de routes, dont 6 000 bitumées. Le réseau ferroviaire totalise 1 020 km de voies ferrées. Il dispose de quatre aéroports internationaux (Douala, Yaoundé-Nsimalen, Maroua et Garoua) et une quarantaine d’aéroports secondaires

Le Cameroun est doté de quatre ports autonomes: le port autonome de Douala; le port en eaux profondes de Kribi, le port maritime de Limbé et le port fluvial de Garoua.

Le port autonome de Douala représente à lui seul 95 % du trafic maritime de marchandises camerounais. C’est le plus grand port de la zone CEMAC. Situé à l’embouchure du fleuve Wouri, est le seul point d’entrée maritime pour le Cameroun et les pays enclavés de la zone. Son trafic de 6 millions de tonnes en 2004 assure 95 % des échanges extérieurs du pays. Sa capacité de 7,5 millions de tonnes (26 quais, 7 terminaux spécialisés et 15 entrepôts) est extensible à 10 millions10.

Toutefois, Douala n’est pas un port en eau profonde: les navires (1 300 par an d’une jauge brute de 15 000 t) y accèdent en empruntant un chenal de 24 km et de 6,5 m de profondeur qu’il faut constamment entretenir. D’où la construction du port en eau profonde de Kribi.

Les projets structurants par le Gouvernement camerounais  entrepris concernent des secteurs innovants tels que la construction des barrages (Memve’ele, Lom Pangar etc), des autoroutes (Douala-Yaoundé, Yaoundé-Nsimalen etc). L’extraction minière, l’agro-industrie, de logements sociaux ou encore des installations énergétiques. Ces projets visent non seulement à faire du Cameroun un pays émergent d’ici 2035, mais également à créer des nombreuses opportunités d’emploi pour les jeunes (2000 emplois) comme l’a annoncé le Président de la République dans son discours du 10 février 2013 à la jeunesse.

De bonnes perspectives économiques

Avec une position géographique stratégique qui en fait le débouché naturel pour les pays et régions enclavés d’Afrique centrale (Tchad, Centrafrique et le nord du Congo), le Cameroun est incontestablement un pays influent de la communauté économique et monétaire de l’Afrique centrale. La croissance économique du Cameroun a accéléré sur la période récente, passant de 2 % environ en 2009 à 5,9 % en 2015 et 4,8 % en 2016 (prévision 2017 : 4,2%), selon les prévisions des autorités. Le FMI estime que l’accroissement réel du PIB devrait se maintenir au-dessus de 5 % par an au cours des prochaines années, grâce notamment à l’augmentation de la production pétrolière (exploitation de nouveaux champs), à la réalisation d’investissements publics et à l’amélioration de la productivité agricole. Depuis 2010, la moyenne de l’inflation est restée inférieure à 3 %.  Le gouvernement du Cameroun envisage de tirer un plus grand avantage des opportunités offertes par les partenariats public- privés (PPP), afin de mobiliser les ressources nécessaires au financement de sa stratégie de développement consignée dans le Document de stratégie pour la croissance et l’emploi (DSCE) adopté en 2009.

LES SECTEURS CLES

Services

Les services représentent près de la moitié du PIB (47% en 2014) et emploie 22% de la population active. Les services sont devenus la source de croissance la plus dynamique pour l’économie camerounaise. Dopée par la bonne santé des télécommunications, du transport et de la logistique, l’augmentation de la part du tertiaire dans le PIB du pays est une tendance qui devrait s’installer, puisqu’elle repose sur des activités diverses et en plein essor, notamment dans les domaines de la santé, de l’éducation et de l’administration ainsi que dans ceux du commerce, de l’hôtellerie et de la restauration.

Mines et Hydrocarbures

Le Cameroun a une capacité de production pétrolière de 100 000 barils/jour. Le pays s’apprête par ailleurs à valoriser son gaz naturel (dont les réserves sont estimées à 160 milliards de mètres cubes) à partir du complexe de Kribi, où Cameroon LNG, filiale de la Société nationale des hydrocarbures (SNH) et de GDF-Suez, achève la construction de son unité de liquéfaction. Riche en diamant, bauxite, fer, cobalt, nickel et or, le sous-sol camerounais renfermerait plus d’une cinquantaine de minerais, dont certains ne sont pas exploités. Depuis une dizaine d’années, le gouvernement a attribué nombre de permis d’exploration et d’exploitation minière, dont certains commencent à porter leurs fruits. Situé dans l’Est, le gisement diamantifère de Mobilong a livré ses premières pierres début 2013. L’opérateur coréen Cameroon & Korea Mining (C&KM) estime son potentiel à 18 millions de carats. L’américain Geovic Mining Corp., via sa filiale Geovic Cameroon, s’est associé fin juillet 2013 au chinois Jiangxi Rare Metals Tungsten Group Holding Company (JXTC) afin d’accélérer le développement et la mise en production de la mine de cobalt, nickel et manganèse de Nkamouna (Sud-Est), dont les réserves sont estimées à plus de 100 millions de tonnes de minerai. Enfin, le gisement de fer de Mbalam-Nabeba (à cheval sur la frontière avec le Congo).  La production du site – considéré comme le deuxième plus grand gisement de fer du continent – est estimée à 35 millions de tonnes sur vingt ans.

Infrastructures

Après un sérieux relâchement dans l’entretien et la mise à niveau des infrastructures de transport et un désinvestissement du secteur de l’énergie – dont le pays reste pourtant le plus important producteur au sein de la Communauté économique et monétaire de l’Afrique centrale (Cemac), le gouvernement met enfin les bouchées doubles pour réaliser les projets prioritaires identifiés dans son Document de stratégie pour la croissance et l’emploi (DSCE) 2010-2020. Un réveil largement motivé par le fait que ces derniers, d’une importance cruciale pour le développement de la sous-région également, suscitent l’apport de financements de la part des partenaires régionaux et internationaux. Le plan énergétique camerounais vise à résorber le déficit du pays (40 GWh par an) pour porter la puissance installée à 5 000 MW d’ici à 2020 (contre 1 337 MW actuellement). Le coût global de la réalisation des infrastructures de production et de transport d’électricité est estimé à plus de 5 850 milliards de F CFA (8,9 milliards d’euros) sur la période 2010-2020.  Le pays s’est par ailleurs attelé à la réalisation d’un réseau d’hydroélectricité, sachant qu’il dispose en la matière d’un potentiel estimé à 20 GW (le deuxième du continent après la RD Congo), dont il n’exploite que 6%.

Agriculture & et agroforesterie

Le gouvernement a élaboré en 2008 un plan de relance pour étendre les superficies cultivées (un quart des terres arables du pays), faciliter l’approvisionnement et l’utilisation d’intrants, ainsi que l’accès des paysans aux financements. Résultat : les produits de rentes et vivriers sont repartis à la hausse en 2012. Les activités de première transformation du café et du cacao ont augmenté la valeur ajoutée des produits d’exportation, de même que celles de l’huile de palme, mais elles doivent encore être développées et étendues à d’autres filières (coton, hévéa).

Parmi les autres chantiers en cours : l’amélioration du rendement dans l’exploitation des fruits, en particulier des bananes (dont l’exportation représente près de 3 % des recettes du pays hors pétrole) et la relance du secteur forestier. Le bois, qui est d’ores et déjà le premier produit camerounais d’exportation hors pétrole (environ 30 % des recettes), pourrait en effet rapporter beaucoup plus, sachant que la moitié seulement du million de mètres cubes exporté chaque année est transformée localement.